Home

 Red Wines

 White Wines

 Organic Wines

 Vegetarian Wines

 Useful links

 About Us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

    

 

 

FONISOL INTERNATIONAL

Quality wines from Argentina


Vegetarian Wines
 
Most people are not aware of 'animal products' used in wine making. 'Fining" is one of the wine processing stages, which uses proteins obtained from animal products  to remove unwanted color, haze, bitterness, excessive astringency, off-flavors, unpleasant odors, etc. Usually, the fining agent itself is eliminated before the wine is bottled.

We offer vegetarian wines which do not use any animal products.

What are vegetarian wines?

Vegetarian wines are the wines made without the use of any sort of animal products.

Is it true that wines have animal products in them?

Yes, Wines can be both vegetarian and non-vegetarian depending on use of animal products during a process called fining in wine-making.

What is fining?                                                                                                                       Fining is a process in wine making which removes floating particles present in wine barrels. The fining agents are proteins obtained from animals which when put in wines, coagulates with the particles, and settles on the base as sediment.

What do these wines use in fining if not the proteins from Animals?

These wines make use of Bentonite, a kind of clay instead of Isinglass or Gelatin, hence making them vegetarian. However it is always a good idea to check certifications of  wine before buying it if you are a strict vegetarian.                                                                                                                                                    What are the most commonly used fining agents?

Following are the fining agents commonly used by wine makers:              

Isinglass Isinglass is a compound obtained from swim bladder of fishes. It is also called gelatin in the winemaking industry.

Egg White Egg white is a pure protein and acts as coagulating agent.

Gelatin Gelatin is obtained from bones, cartilage, skin of animals. Gelatin is prepared by partial hydrolysis of the collagen extracted from skin, bones, cartilage, ligaments, etc. Most of the gelatin used in the wine industry comes from Leather or meat industry. 

Bentonite It is a a kind of clay, chemically it is aluminium phyllosilicate.

Kiesolsol  The chemical name is liquid silicon dioxide. It solves two purposes, first is reducing bitter components from white wines and second is clarifying agent, where it is used with gelatin obtained from animal bones and cartilages.

Casein It is a protein obtained from milk.

Chitosan  It is a protein derived from shells of crustaceans.


  Fonisol.com 2005                                                            Contact Email: support@fonisol.com